About the Church Building
A Grade 2 listed architectural gem, built in local sandstone, Holy Trinity serves the small hamlet and parish of Coleman’s Hatch (population circa 700). The parish is a rural idyll comprising a scattering of farms, houses and cottages on the northern fringes of the Ashdown Forest, an area of outstanding natural beauty.‘Hatch’ is a name for a gate or entrance to the forest. The present Church and Parish were created following a major disagreement between the Church’s principal benefactor John Mc Andrew, a wealthy landowner, and the Rector of Hartfield. The church was consecrated on 13th November 1913. The benefices of Hartfield and Coleman’s Hatch were reunited in 1979.
• In the Chancel, the reredos behind the altar is in 13th century Early English style. • The east windows depict ‘St. Paul and St. Stephen’ and ‘Isaiah and Jacob’. • The organ, built by Messrs. J.W. Walker & Sons 1913, is listed in the Register of Historic Pipe Organs a being an instrument of importance to the national heritage.
External Features• Trinity Hall accommodates up to 100 people and is available for weddings and other functions. • Major General Clifford Coffin VC was buried in Holy Trinity Churchyard in 1959 and his grave was refurbished in 2013 and is now cared for by the Victoria Cross Trust.
ABOUT holy trinity church
Holy Trinity Church stands on high ground and is clearly visible from all approaches. It has been fittingly described as “a cathedral in the country”. Its size and capacity (with pews seating 330) are out of proportion in relation to the hamlet that it serves. It is an architectural gem, built in local sandstone to a very high standard and with an unusually spacious interior.
The Church is located in the small hamlet of Colemans Hatch, on a sharp bend on the north side of the B2110, almost equidistant between the villages of Forest Row and Hartfield, and some 2 miles from each. A minor road opposite the Church leads to the Hatch Inn (1/4 mile) and across the forest to the Ashdown Park Hotel and Ashdown Forest Visitor Centre (both 2 ½ miles) and Wych Cross (3 miles).
The parish of Coleman’s Hatch (population around 700) is a quintessentially rural idyll comprising a scattering of farms, houses and cottages on the Northern fringes of the Ashdown Forest, an area of outstanding natural beauty. ‘Hatch’ is a name for a gate or entrance to the forest. The Church can be seen as the centre of the hamlet as there are no shops and the only other features are the Hatch Inn and a phone box.